X-Men Announces Fan Vote to Select Final Member of New Team | CBR

Marvel Comics is allowing fans to vote for who they would like to see join the new roster of the X-Men.

“In 2021, Mutantkind will be selecting the first X-Men team of the Krakoan Age and you are invited to take part in the election,” Marvel’s voting site reads. “Marvel’s fan vote will be 100% responsible for the determination of the final member of this inaugural team, so choose wisely as your choice will have an everlasting effect on the future of the X-Men and the world at large.”

RELATED: X-Men’s Young Mutants Have Become Hooked on Dying

Official voting opens at 12 a.m. ET on Jan. 27 and runs through 11:59 p.m. ET on Feb. 2. Election results, along with the full X-Men team, will be unveiled during the Hellfire Gala in June. The list of which mutants fans will be able to vote on can be found below.

  • 1. Banshee
  • 2. Polaris
  • 3. Forge
  • 4. Boom-Boom
  • 5. Tempo
  • 6. Cannonball
  • 7. Sunspot
  • 8. Strong Guy
  • 9. Marrow
  • 10. Armor

The company reiterates that each person can only vote once, so make sure to make your choice carefully. Marvel Insiders who participate in the X-Men election will also earn points to redeem for rewards. Marvel Insiders will also be eligible to enter into the Marvel Insider Drawn into X-Men Hellfire Gala Sweepstakes starting Feb. 3 until Feb. 14 for a chance to attend the Hellfire Gala itself by being drawn into a Marvel comic book. More information on how to enter will be provided in the coming days.

Each X-Man has been a part of various teams over the years, such as X-Factor, New Mutants and even core X-Men teams. Banshee, Polaris, Forge, Boom-Boom, Cannonball, Sunspot and Armor have made numerous appearances throughout the Dawn of X period, with Tempo, Strong Guy and Marrow included as surprising additions to the vote. However, any X-Men fan knows that each character has a dedicated fanbase, so it wouldn’t be surprising to see an underdog run away with the voting.

X-Men #16 introduced the concept of the X-Men holding a democratic vote to elect who would represent the people of Krakoa. Jean Grey and Cyclops are spearheading the movement after the fallout from X of Swords, with Jean Grey stepping down from her position on the Quiet Council.

X-Men #17 goes on sale Jan. 27 from Marvel Comics. Fans are encouraged to go vote at marvel.com/xmenvote.

KEEP READING: A Major Part of Way of X Is About Nightcrawler Creating a New Mutant Religion

Source: Marvel